top of page

The LIBERTAS campaign for the liberation of Armenian POWs

Following the 44-day war, Azerbaijan, in violation of international law and the tripartite ceasefire declaration of 10 November  2020, kept dozens of Armenian prisoners of war in detention.

 

In the face of such injustice, Hyestart, together with the Covcas Center for Law and Conflict Resolution and the Armenophobia Observatory, launched the LIBERTAS campaign for the release of Armenian POWs illegally detained by Azerbaijan since 2020.

 

This is an international solidarity campaign, the core of which is the sponsorship of Armenian POWs by local authorities, NGOs and celebrities. 

 

Among its sponsors, the LIBERTAS campaign has been able to count on the support of cities such as Lyon, Geneva or Montpellier, NGOs such as Christian Solidarity International (CSI), Dove Tales, the Society for Threatened Peoples or the Scottish Peace Network, and personalities such as Swiss State Councillor (senator) Lisa Mazzone.

 

In December 2023, after almost a year of campaigning, 32 Armenian detainees, including prisoners of war, were released by Azerbaijan. The campaign has continued to the extent that not all prisoners have been released.

 

Click here to visit the LIBERTAS campaign website.

bottom of page

top of page

Campagne Libertas pour la libération des prisonniers de guerre arméniens

A la suite de la guerre des 44 jours, l'Azerbaïdjan a, en violation du droit international et de la déclaration tripartite de cessez-le-feu du 10 novembre 2020, maintenu en détention des dizaines de prisonniers de guerre arméniens. 

 

Face à une telle injustice, Hyestart a lancé, avec le Centre Covcas pour le droit et la résolution des conflits et l'Observatoire d'arménophobie, la campagne LIBERTAS pour la liberation des prisonniers de guerre arméniens détenus illégalement depuis 2020 par l’Azerbaïdjan.

Il s'agit d'une campagne de solidarité internationale dont le coeur est le parrainage des prisonniers de guerre arméniens par des collectivités, des ONG ou des personnalités. 

Parmi les parrains, la campagne LIBERTAS a pu compter sur le soutien de villes comme Lyon, Genève ou Montpellier, d'ONG comme Christian Solidarity International (CSI(, Dove Tales, la Société pour les peuples menacés, le Réseau écossais pour la Paix, ou de personnalités comme la Conseillère aux Etats (sénatrice) suisse Lisa Mazzone.

En décembre 2023, après près d'un an de campagne, 32 détenus arméniens, dont des prisonniers de guerre, ont été libérés par l'Azerbaïdjan. La campagne s'est poursuivie dans la mesure où tous les prisonniers n'ont pas été libérés. 

 

Cliquez ici pour voir le site de la campagne LIBERTAS

bottom of page